GFDL Memberships and Involvement in Prestigious Organizations

Professional Societies

National Academy of Sciences Member

Isaac M. Held, elected 2003

American Geophysical Union Fellows

Isaac M. Held, elected 1995

John Robert Toggweiler, elected 2005

Venkatachalam Ramaswamy, elected 2007

P. Christopher D. Milly, USGS at GFDL, elected 2009

Ronald J. Stouffer, elected 2012

Stephen Griffies, elected 2017

Tom Delworth, elected 2018

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

Venkatachalam Ramaswamy, elected 2016

American Meteorological Society Fellows

Isaac M. Held, elected 1991

Venkatachalam Ramaswamy, elected 2005

Ronald J. Stouffer, elected 2007

Thomas Knutson, elected 2012

Brian Soden, elected 2012

P. Christopher D. Milly, elected 2014

Thomas Delworth, elected 2015

Shian-Jian Lin, elected 2017

Leo Donner, elected 2019

Rong Zhang, elected 2019

Penn State Alumni Fellow

Ronald J. Stouffer, elected 2012

NOAA Senior Technical (ST, highest scientific rank in the Federal service). Since November, 2011 termed "Council of NOAA Fellows"

Isaac Held, appointed 1991

Venkatachalam Ramaswamy, appointed 2000 (through 2008, currently serving in the Federal Senior Executive Service as Director of GFDL)

Ronald J. Stouffer, appointed 2012