Skip to content

GFDL Awards & Honors

July 27th, 2018 - Rong Zhang Named AMS Fellow

Rong Zhang, an Oceanographer and head of the Ocean and Cryosphere division, was elected a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society (AMS) for 2019. She is recognized for her work on the mechanisms of Atlantic multidecadal variability and associated decadal predictability, and the impact of Atlantic meridional overturning circulation (AMOC) on global and regional climate […]

January 31st, 2018 - S.J. Lin Honored by AMS

Shian-Jiann (S.J.) Lin, head of GFDL’s Weather and Climate Dynamics Group, has been elected a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society (AMS). AMS Fellows are chosen for having “made outstanding contributions to the atmospheric or related oceanic or hydrologic sciences or their applications during a substantial period of years.” Examples of Dr. Lin’s significant contributions […]

January 24th, 2018 - Stephen Griffies Elected AGU Fellow

Stephen M. Griffies was elected a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU) for 2017 for “exceptional and sustained contributions to the understanding of large-scale ocean circulation and physics and seminal advances in ocean modeling.” His research has provided important insights about ocean fluid mechanics and the role that ocean circulation plays in the global […]

August 7th, 2017 - Larry Horowitz Receives 2017 AGU Ascent Award

Larry Horowitz, Leader of GFDL’s Atmospheric Chemistry and Climate Group, has been honored with AGU’s Ascent Award for Atmospheric Sciences this year. The Atmospheric Sciences Ascent Award rewards exceptional mid-career scientists in the atmospheric and climate sciences. Honorees are recognized for demonstrating excellence in research and leadership in his or her field. AGU award recipients […]

November 3rd, 2016 - Isaac Held to Deliver 2016 Jacob Bjerknes Lecture at AGU

GFDL senior scientist Isaac Held will present the 2016 Jacob Bjerknes Lecture on December 13th at the American Geophysical Union’s (AGU) annual fall meeting in San Francisco. The Bjerknes Lecture, one of the two most distinguished named lectures of the Atmospheric Sciences Section of AGU, is awarded annually to a prominent scientist. The lecture is […]

September 30th, 2015 - GFDL Director Named Walter Orr Roberts Lecturer in Interdisciplinary Sciences

The American Meteorological Society has announced its 2016 award recipients, and GFDL’s Director, V. “Ram” Ramaswamy has been named the Walter Orr Roberts Lecturer in Interdisciplinary Sciences. Ram is being recognized, “For pioneering scientific achievements that have synthesized atmospheric radiation, physics of greenhouse gases and aerosols, and state-of-the-art Earth system modeling.” The lectureship is presented […]

July 7th, 2015 - Sarah Kapnick Selected for AGU Cryosphere Early Career Award

Sarah Kapnick has been recognized by American Geophysical Union (AGU) with the Cryosphere Early Career Award for 2015. As a Physical Research Scientist in the Climate Change, Variability, and Predictions Group at GFDL, Dr. Kapnick’s research focuses on the mechanisms controlling extreme storms and mountain snowpack. She uses data from both observations and models to […]

March 17th, 2015 - GFDL Scientist Paul Ginoux Receives Editors’ Citation for Excellence

The Journal of Geophysical Research Atmospheres has awarded GFDL senior scientist, Paul Ginoux, its 2014 Editors’ Citation for Excellence in Refereeing. The award will be announced in an upcoming issue of Eos. The citation recognizing Dr. Ginoux “is to express publicly the gratitude of AGU to those whose reviews have been particularly commendable. Your contributions […]

April 1st, 2014 - Stephen M. Griffies Awarded Fridtjof Nansen Medal from EGU

European Geosciences Union has awarded the 2014 Fridtjof Nansen Medal to Stephen M. Griffies, “for his outstanding contribution and leadership in ocean general circulation model development and critical insights in the physical nature and parameterisation of ocean processes.” The Ocean Sciences Division of the European Geosciences Union established this medal in 1996, in recognition of […]

September 25th, 2013 - GFDL Director Honored with Sir Gilbert Walker Distinguished Chair

GFDL’s Director, Ram, has been selected as the second Sir Gilbert Walker Distinguished Chair Professor at the Centre for Atmospheric Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) in New Delhi, India, for three years. Beginning this November, Ram will give a series of special lectures in Climate Sciences to graduate students at IIT each semester. The […]

rss_feedGFDL Awards RSS Feed