Skip to content

GFDL Awards & Honors

November 21st, 2022 - Ming Zhao’s Research and Model Development Recognized by AGU

For Ming Zhao’s “growing research accomplishments and leadership in climate model development”, he has been recognized with the 2022 AGU Ascent Award. A Senior Physical Scientist at GFDL, Zhao conducts research focused on challenging topics with extensive societal and economic implications, while also being exceptionally skilled in the development of climate models. Dr. Zhao successfully […]

October 14th, 2021 - GFDL Director named 2021 APS Fellow

Honoring his contributions to the advancement of physics, the American Physical Society (APS) elected NOAA Climate Scientist V. “Ram” Ramaswamy among its 2021 Fellows. The APS Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions in physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or physics education. As Director of the […]

September 13th, 2021 - Adcroft wins National AGU Ocean Sciences Award

As a Research Oceanographer, Alistair Adcroft knows the importance of teamwork when it comes to advancing global climate science. For this dedication, the American Geophysical Union (AGU) just honored him among its 2021 Honors Award, which recognizes scientists nationwide for their outstanding career work within their fields. Adcroft specifically earned the AGU Ocean Sciences Award […]

August 10th, 2021 - GFDL Director wins 2022 AMS Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal

Honoring a distinguished career in atmospheric sciences, the American Meteorological Society (AMS) will present V. “Ram” Ramaswamy with the 2022 Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal. Ramaswamy has served as director of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory in Princeton, New Jersey since 2008. Regarded as the highest award AMS offers, the medallion […]

November 18th, 2020 - Tom Knutson Elected AGU Fellow

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) announced the election of Tom Knutson as an AGU Fellow. AGU Fellows are elected each year for their visionary leadership and scientific excellence. This designation is conferred upon less than 0.1% of all AGU members in any given year, as a tribute for those who have made exceptional scientific contributions. […]

September 30th, 2020 - GFDL Director Selected to Deliver Jule Gregory Charney Lecture at AGU

V. “Ram” Ramaswamy, GFDL’s Director, has been selected to give the 2020 Jule Gregory Charney Lecture at the Fall meeting of the American Geophysical Union (AGU). Each year, AGU chooses a “prominent scientist who has made exceptional contributions to the understanding of weather and climate” to deliver the Charney Lecture. Ram was selected in recognition […]

August 18th, 2020 - Rong Zhang Recognized by American Meteorological Society

Rong Zhang, research oceanographer at GFDL and a leading expert on the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation and Atlantic Multidecadal Variability, has been selected by the American Meteorological Society (AMS) to be the Bernhard Haurwitz Lecturer. In recognizing Dr. Zhang, the AMS cited her for “advancing scientific understanding of the causes and impacts of Atlantic multidecadal […]

Baoqiang Xiang

December 23rd, 2019 - GFDL Scientist Recognized with International Prize for Model Development

GFDL scientist Baoqiang Xiang has been awarded the International Prize for Model Development from the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) and the World Weather Research Programme (WWRP). Dr. Xiang is being recognized for his skill in developing multiple modeling systems, and in particular for leading the development of GFDL’s next generation coupled atmosphere-ocean models for […]

rss_feedGFDL Awards RSS Feed